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Do you want to file for divorce? 
 

Divorce is a legal procedure that ends a marriage and 
changes the legal relationship between former 
spouses. Living apart from your husband or wife does 
not legally end a marriage.   
 
Types of divorce available in 
Pennsylvania. 
 

There are 2 kinds of divorce: no-fault divorce and 
fault-based divorce.  Most people in Pennsylvania 
obtain a no-fault divorce because it is easier and 
cheaper and you may not have to appear before a 
judge or go to court other than to file the papers 
needed for the divorce. There are 2 kinds of no-fault 
divorce: 
 

1.  If both parties agree to the divorce, they can 
obtain a no-fault divorce based on consent. After one 
party files for the divorce, and 90 days has passed 
after the complaint is served on the other spouse, each 
party may file an Affidavit of Consent to divorce. If 
your spouse was convicted of a personal injury crime 
(a misdemeanor or felony crime listed in the divorce 
law) against you, you will not have to get your spouse 
to sign a consent affidavit and file it with the court.  
Consent will be presumed. You may also work out 
any property issues you have by agreeing on how you 
will deal with marital property in a Property 
Settlement Agreement. The court rules require you to 
file a series of legal papers to complete the divorce. 
This is the fastest way to divorce in Pennsylvania, but 
it requires both parties to work together 
 

2.  Unilateral (also known as “irretrievable 
breakdown”) no-fault divorce is available if one of 
the spouses will not agree to the divorce but the 
parties have been living separate and apart (defined by 
the statute as “complete cessation of any and all 
cohabitation, whether living in the same residence or 
not”) for at least one year and the marriage is 
irretrievably broken. You may file for the divorce 
before you have lived separate and apart for one year, 
but you cannot finalize the divorce until the required 
time period has passed. 
 
There may be disagreement between you and your 
spouse about when you started living separate and 
apart. If you disagree with each other, It is important 
to try to get some legal advice on this issue.   

 

 
Where to file for divorce. 
 

You may file for divorce in Philadelphia County if 
you or your spouse lived in Pennsylvania for the 6 
months immediately before the filing of the divorce 
complaint, and either party currently resides in 
Philadelphia or you agree to divorce in Philadelphia. 
There is no required length of residency in the county 
where the divorce complaint is filed. In Philadelphia, 
a divorce complaint is filed with the Clerk of Family 
Court at 1501 Arch Street, 11th Fl. Philadelphia, PA.  
 
What is the cost? 
 

The filing fee is $333.73. You may pay with a money 
order, credit card, or debit card. Personal checks and 
cash are not accepted.   
 

If you cannot pay the filing fee, you may ask to be 
excused from paying the fee by filing a petition to 
proceed In Forma Pauperis (IFP). Ask for and fill out 
an IFP Petition. If you are on public assistance or SSI, 
bring your public assistance photo ID or proof receipt 
of SSI. 
 
What happens to property owned by the 
parties in a divorce? 
 

“Marital property” refers to almost all property 
regardless of whose name is on it.  Such assets would 
include a house (again, regardless of whose name is 
on the deed or mortgage), pensions, stocks and bonds, 
furniture, automobiles, bank accounts, debts, etc.  
“Marital property” also includes increases in value 
during the marriage of: (1) any property owned by a 
spouse before the marriage and/or (2) any asset or 
property a spouse inherits or receives by gift during 
the marriage.  Importantly, debts are also part of a 
marital estate and responsibility for them may also 
be divided between the parties. The law provides 
guidance regarding the “equitable distribution” of 
marital property.  Equitable distribution means “fair.”  
It does not necessarily mean 50-50 distribution of 
marital property.   
 

This brochure is meant to give you 
general information and not legal advice. 
 

Divorce forms are available under  
Court of Common Pleas Family Court-
Domestic Relations at 
https://www.courts.phila.gov/forms/ 



DIVORCE IN PHILADELPHIA COUNTY 

 
Sponsored by the Family Law Section of the Philadelphia Bar Association   Page 2, January 2020 

 
“Fairness” is determined by examining several 
factors: 
 Length of marriage; 
 Any prior marriage of either party; 
 Age, health, station, amount and sources of 

income, vocational skills, employability, estate, 
liabilities and needs of each of the parties; 

 The contribution by one party to the education, 
training or increased earning power of the other 
party; 

 The opportunity to acquire assets and income in 
the future; 

 The sources of income for both parties; 
 The contribution of each party in the acquisition, 

preservation, depreciation or appreciation of 
marital property, including the contribution of a 
party as homemaker; 

 The value of any property set apart to each party; 
 The standard of living of the parties established 

during the marriage; 
 The economic circumstances of each party; and 
 Whether the party will be serving as the custodian 

of any dependent minor children. 
 

Note that “fault” behavior (e.g., adultery) is not 
considered in determining fairness in property 
distribution. 

 
Can alimony or support for the spouse be 
awarded in a divorce? 

A separated spouse may seek three forms of support. 

 Spousal Support Spousal support is a form of 
support available to a dependent spouse even before 
a divorce complaint is filed because married people 
have a duty to support one another. 
 
 Alimony Pendente Lite (APL) is a form of 
support that is only awarded for the period after a 
divorce complaint has been filed and ends when the 
divorce is granted.  Its purpose is to allow the spouse 
with fewer financial resources than the other to pursue 
and/or defend against the divorce action and maintain 
his or her standard of living during this period.    
 
 Alimony is a form of financial support paid by 
one spouse to the other after the divorce is final.  The 
law allows the court to order alimony for as long as it 
is needed based on the following factors: 
 

 
 

 
 Relative earnings and earning capacities of the 

parties; 
 Ages and physical, mental and emotional 

conditions of parties; 
 Sources of income of both parties, including: 
 Expectancies and inheritances of both parties, 

and 
 Length of the marriage. 
 Contribution by one party to the education, 

training, or increased earning power of the other 
party;  

 Extent to which earning power, expenses, or 
financial obligations of a party will be affected 
by reason of serving as custodian of minor child; 

 Standard of living of the parties established 
during the marriage; 

 Relative education of the parties and time 
necessary to acquire sufficient education or 
training to enable the party seeking alimony to 
find appropriate employment; 

 Relative assets and liabilities of parties; 
 Property brought to the marriage by either party; 
 Contribution of a spouse as a homemaker;  
 Relative needs of the parties; 
 Marital misconduct of either party during the 

marriage, but not after the date of final 
separation (except abuse of one party by the 
other); 

 Federal, state and local ramifications of 
alimony;  

 Whether the party seeking alimony lacks 
sufficient property to provide for the party’s 
reasonable needs; 

 Capability for self-support through appropriate 
employment. 

 
Do you need a lawyer? 
Filing for a divorce can be a complicated process, 
especially if custody of children, support, and/or 
property division is involved.  If possible, it is best to 
have legal representation.   
 
Legal assistance may be available from: 
 PHILADELPHIA LEGAL ASSISTANCE:  

https://www.philalegal.org/ 
 PHILADELPHIA BAR ASSOCIATION’S LAWYER 

REFERRAL AND INFORMATION SERVICE:  
215-238-6333 


